When involved in a car accident, a valuable tool used to support your claim for damages is a California Highway Patrol (CHP) incident report. A CHP incident report provides critical information that may support your injury claim.
An unbiased California Highway Patrol officer creates an incident report based on their observations at the scene of a collision. These observations provide strong evidence in personal injury lawsuits to support determinations of fault and other valuable findings.
Read on to learn more about how to get a California Highway Patrol accident report.
How to Get Accident Reports
To obtain a copy of CHP incident reports by date, you must be a party of interest in the collision. Parties of interest include the following persons involved with the collision:
- Vehicle owners, and
- Parents or guardians of an involved minor.
Additionally, attorneys and insurance companies may qualify to obtain a copy of the report.You may request a copy of your CHP incident report either by mail or in person.
To obtain a copy of your CHP incident report by mail, you must submit form CHP 190, or the “Application for Release of Information.”
To complete the form, you must provide the following information:
- Incident date,
- Incident location,
- Driver or owner name,
- Party of interest, and
- Your name and address.
In addition to providing the required information, you must also sign the form and provide a copy of your driver’s license. The report fee must also be included for processing.
You may also request a copy of your CHP incident report in person. However, an in-person request must be made at the CHP Area Office that handled the collision report.
At this time, it is not possible to obtain a copy of a CHP accident report online.
How Much Does a CHP Incident Report Cost?
The California Highway Patrol provides a fee schedule for obtaining CHP incident reports. The CHP fee schedule is calculated based on the number of pages of the report.
The CHP fee schedule is as follows:
- $10.00 for 1-25 pages;
- $20.00 for 26-50 pages;
- $30.00 for 51-75 pages;
- $40.00 for 76-100 pages; and
- $10.00 per additional 25 pages for reports over 100 pages in length.
Checks must be made payable to the “California Highway Patrol.” Cash payments are only accepted for in-person requests.
How Long Does it Take To Obtain My CHP Incident Report?
Determining how long it will take to get your accident report depends on the type of accident that occurred. Mailed requests for a CHP incident report generally take about one to two weeks for processing.
However, when a collision involves a fatality it may take months for the CHP to complete their report.
At Farzam Law Firm, we understand the stress and financial burden you must be feeling following a car accident.
Our firm has obtained impressive settlements for our clients, ranging from hundreds of thousands of dollars to a million dollars and more.
One of the first steps in moving forward in seeking compensation for your injuries is obtaining a copy of your CHP incident report. Let us help get your police report and build the strongest case possible for your financial recovery.
We front the cost of your case and don’t charge you unless we win. Contact our office today for a free case consultation!